Tyler Morrison Honoured as 2016-17 ACAC Men’s Hockey Rookie of the Year

Tyler Morrison Honoured as 2016-17 ACAC Men’s Hockey Rookie of the Year

EDMONTON, AB (March 17, 2017) – The Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference (ACAC) is pleased to announce Tyler Morrison of the MacEwan University Griffins has been selected as the 2016-17 ACAC Men's Hockey Rookie of the Year.

Although the first-year Commerce student-athlete from Sherwood Park, AB plays defence, he still averaged almost a point a game for the Griffins in his rookie season. Morrison recorded eight goals and 25 points in 27 games, including two goals on the power play.

"He's a pretty dynamic player, an elite skater who moves the puck very well," said Griffins head coach Bram Stephen. "He's been a huge offensive contributor for us. He's certainly been a big part of our success this year."

Morrison joined the Griffins after logging 208 career games in the Western Hockey League, mostly with the Vancouver Giants, before spending his final junior season split between the Spruce Grove Saints and Camrose Kodiaks of the Alberta Junior Hockey League.

This prestigious award was presented to Morrison at the 2017 ACAC Men's Hockey Championship ceremony held on March 17th at the first game of the Men's Hockey Finals at the NAIT arena.

– 30 –

About the ACAC: The ACAC is the governing body for intercollegiate athletics in Alberta. Its mission is to provide competitive collegiate sport experiences, promote academic achievement and be a leader of sport development in Canada.

For more information on the ACAC, please visit our website: www.acac.ab.ca

For additional information, contact:
Kenneth Schildroth
Director of Athletics

Mark Kosak
ACAC Chief Executive Officer

Twitter: @acac_sport / #ACACMHOC2017
Facebook:  AlbertaCollegesAthleticConference